Pregnancy update: 4 Months

Since I finally feel good enough to actually sit down and write, I thought I’d catch back up on some good blogging opportunities! 🙂 A few things to catch you up on, like a construction project and a trip to the Big Easy.

But first, I thought I’d share some more personal news I’ve been keeping to myself (and Jeremy and my Mom) since I first announced our family expansion project.

16 weeks: I don’t look quite so pregnant when I stand up straight, but Jeremy caught me goofing off and I kinda love it.

Right now:

  • Foods–I pretty much drink nothing but water, and lots of it. Occasionally, when I can’t take it anymore, I’ll have a small glass of milk or a huge glass of cranberry juice with breakfast. I’m LOVING cranberry cocktail juice. I also love apples, rice (but especially Jasmine or Basmati with just a little butter and salt-mmmm), toast and cheese sticks. Even though the nausea’s gone, I’m still a pretty picky eater thanks to the baby rules and my acid reflux.
  • Body–After a long time of nothing, then a short time of is-this-baby-growing or just-me-eating-like-it, I’m finally actually showing. I fact, everything on my torso has grown but otherwise, no changes to report.
  • Sleep–I’m sleeping better lately. Not near as much tossing and turning as the past month. I can’t roll on my stomach though or it’s uncomfortable and I still get up in the middle of the night thanks to all the water I’m drinking.
  • Work–Has been 50 times more stressful than usual and I find myself with slightly less patience and stamina than I’m used to. But otherwise, I still have a great department team and enjoy going and building relationships. Last week it was with media, which was a fun change of pace since normally my work focuses on employees and Brand.
  • Other people–From the people who know I’m expecting, I get asked frequently now if I know “what I’m having” (in my head I scoff and say, yes, a baby!) but I actually tell them I will in a few weeks. Most people are very excited and it’s still fun to tell people who don’t know.

What I learned over the past trimester:

  • Calming down–I was soooo excited in the beginning. And before I knew it I was as far as planning the first day of school! I had to quit. I’m trying to live more in the moment and accept whatever that moment brings. Especially when it’s not what I was planning but what needs to happen. Even at work, I would get so personally invested in topics. Now I try to be more reserved and only react to those things that impact me directly. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t… 😉 
  • Reality check–I always loved keeping up with pregnant friends and bloggers. The adorable belly pictures, the showers, nursery decorations, the birth announcements! I totally forgot there’s so many emotions and so much work to do before any of the fun stuff and there will be plenty later, too. Planning a nursery is so fun! However, cleaning, organizing, sorting the guest room and actually planning/researching safety ratings etc. to put your nursery together is not nearly as much fun as Pinterest browsing.

Things I’m glad are over:

  • Nausea–Enough said.
  • Worry–That risky window of time where people tell you everything can go wrong, especially since it had been so easy so far, was nervewracking.
  • Ambiguity–I had taken the tests and had the doctor confirm but didn’t feel like anything was different for the first 10 weeks. Then even after I felt different (aka worse), others had no idea and I felt like it was so early that it didn’t count.
  • Patheticness–Generally and overall I was totally worthless most evenings. I’d ask Jeremy to hand me my water glass because if I had to move even an inch, it wasn’t worth it. Terrible! 

What I’m looking forward to in this second trimester:

  • Finding out the sex
  • Planning the nursery
  • Great hair and skin
  • Picking names
  • Showing even more
  • Celebrating with friends and family

So, what’s going on with you? Anybody know a good alkaline food menu or Jacksonville prenatal yoga class? Have a great week!

9 responses to “Pregnancy update: 4 Months

  1. Never having been a planner i have to chuckle at you sometimes. Really Adrianne, first day of school lol?? Best plan, one day at a time, and enjoy every minute of it! Coolest experiance ever, and keep a journel for your son/daughter to read in the future. Love you and I’m SO excited for you guys!!

  2. You are glowing! Just gorgeous 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 5 Months | Greenhorn Living

  4. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 6 Months | Greenhorn Living

  5. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 7 Months | Greenhorn Living

  6. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 8 Months | Greenhorn Living

  7. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 9 Months | Greenhorn Living

  8. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 10 Months | Greenhorn Living

  9. Pingback: Pregnancy update: 10 Months | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

