Some days when you feel like it’s not enough…

In recent days, more than anything thing else, I think I spend most of my time wishing I had more time or wishing time would go by more quickly. I’m not working out as much as I want. I’m working more than usual. I’m avoiding laundry more than I care to admit. I’m posting here much less than I like.

But, rather than feeling torn and half-assed, I had decided to just ride the wave. Some days I’m grumpy and have every intention of using a ponytail to hide that I chose sleeping another 30 minutes over showering one morning. Other days I feel great and accomplish some things (even if it’s not everything out off the list).

What’s funny is, as I was deciding how or if I wanted to post about it, I read Emily’s Daily Garnish over lunch. Apparently, I’m not alone! 🙂

Such funny timing!

She wrote about being in the present. How important it is to occasionally reflect on the past and look forward to the future, but really–appreciate the moment you’re in, right now.

I think it stands even if that moment sucks. You’ll never be in that moment again. And if you overlook it, the suckiness might continue because you aren’t focusing on what’s right in front of you at the time.

Interesting concept, right?

I know I struggle with not constantly being a slave to the future. I’m not bad about dwelling on the past but I’m very impatient when it comes to myself and the future. I can remember even being a kid and just wanting to be a teenager. Then as a teenager, wanting to go to college. Then, in college, just wanting to get out of college. And I have a terrible memory of the past–probably because I didn’t pay much attention at the time since I was busy planning what was next! I’m totally the nerd with a 10-year plan.

So, if I don’t post daily or sound a little Dr. Seuss-y at times (no one is more youer than you!), I hope you forgive me. I’m going to try to focus on enjoying and improving the now.

Have a great day! Seriously, do it, right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

