My first recipe

The other day, I was cooking dinner when Jeremy looked at me and said that he hoped I realized how big a difference in my cooking there has been lately. I said I had no idea what he was talking about.

He explained that I have always been a good cook, but not a very confident one. I ALWAYS followed recipes to the tee and let a hiccup ruin the whole process. If I found out I had only half the amount of white wine a recipe called for, I would be so upset and scrap the whole meal.

Since I’ve taken on more cooking this past year, especially cooking new and foreign things, I find myself much more at ease in the kitchen. No white wine? Just leave it out or substitute chicken broth–no biggie.

I found it so funny that he noticed this! But, I’m also pretty happy about him bringing it to my attention. I’m certainly won’t be auditioning for any cooking shows or bragging about my knife skills, but I’m pretty proud of the growth. Although, I still love my standards. 🙂

So, with that background, I give you…my first dinner made without a recipe!Not that this dinner is groundbreaking… and there are probably people who have made something similar. But, I didn’t follow, adapt or loosely base this on anyone else’s recipe. I just inventoried what we had on-hand and what sounded good. Crazy!

I hope you enjoy making (or adapting) this for you:

Shrimp, mushroom and Collard Green Risotto

Ingredients:

  • 6 c. chicken broth
  • 2 c. risotto dry
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 head collard greens, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 c. cremini mushrooms, halved
  • 2 lb. shrimp, peeled and de-veined
  • 2 coves garlic
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • red pepper flakes, Season All and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. In large saucepan or skillet, sauté onion in oil and butter for 3 minutes.
  2. Add rice, stirring for about 2 minutes.
  3. Stir in 1 cup of broth; continue cooking and stirring until liquid is absorbed.
  4. Gradually stir in remaining broth 1 cup at a time, cooking and stirring until liquid is absorbed before adding the next cup.
  5. When last cup of broth is almost absorbed, reduce heat to medium-low, add greens and cover with lid to steam.
  6. In a wok on high heat, add shrimp, mushrooms, lemon juice, garlic and spices.
  7.  Cook, stirring frequently, until shrimp turn pink and mushrooms are tender–about 5 minutes.
  8. Serve shrimp mixture over risotto and enjoy!

I think the nice part is you could add or leave out anything you’d like. You could also probably add the greens to the shrimp mixture instead, but I didn’t and it worked great. I still like to follow recipes but this was kinda fun and liberating!

Also, I’ll note that the risotto instructions are for regular arborio rice. If you have package instructions that are different or you want to make pasta instead, go for it! If you have anything to share, leave that below. I’d love to hear.

Hope you are having a wonderful week. Happy eating!

4 responses to “My first recipe

  1. You outdid yourself. Bravo! Have fun cooking.

  2. This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

