Saving money on organic produce

I’ve shared how happy I am with my organic produce delivery service. I was excited to sign up, and Jeremy and I have been pleased ever since with the timely and delicious goods. It even forced us to try veggies we though we hated like eggplant and acorn squash.

I believe it’s a valuable service and but I thought, just for fun, I’d look at the real cost. Sure it’s healthy and eco-friendly, but price can’t be ignored.

Wit my first three-month membership ending with January, I set out to the store to do some analysis.

I decided to use this week’s delivery as my average example. It included:

  • Collards
  • Cremini Mushrooms
  • Green Peppers
  • Leeks
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Banana
  • Hamlin Oranges
  • 2 recipes for the items sent (steak-less philly cheese steak and roasted carrots & mushrooms)

And here’s the math for the grocery store:

  • 2 miles of gas= $0.70
  • Collards= $4
  • Cremini Mushrooms= $3.30
  • Green Peppers= $3
  • Leeks= $3
  • Broccoli= $3.70
  • Carrots= $1.30
  • Bananas= $4
  • Hamlin Oranges= $4
  • Tax= $1.84

Store total= $28.14

Delivery total= $25

We get to save time, effort AND $3.14! Plus, the service supports a local family business and will make you try new things. Woot! Score one for Palmetto Organics. I think all signs point to renewal.

Leave a Reply

