Fit Friday: 30-Day Shred

Happy Friday!

This post’s runner-up title was “Fit Friday: My muscles have been on fire all week”

Today, I’m sharing a workout that I used to do all the time and haven’t touched in close to two years–Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred at home DVD.

I like to post about fitness each Friday to keep it in mind without the pressure. Sometimes it a workout I’m doing or just a workout idea I found, but no matter what, it’s a casual way to keep healthy movement in my life–otherwise my working at a desk all day every day tends to keep fitness out of sight-out of mind.

I had counted on doing the 15K training program but the first three running days had temperatures in the 30s! I’m a Floridian and a beginner, I’m NOT running in 30-degree weather. So, I did nothing all week. Boo.

I dug up this DVD last Sunday because I came to a realization: anything is better than nothing when it comes to activity. And, why was I stressing to have a bunch of different activities when I don’t want to even do one?

Okay, keep it simple, stupid right? So, I did. I did the DVD this week and I am proud of myself! Mostly because being proud doesn’t use muscles. If it did, I wouldn’t be able to be proud at all because they are all currently screaming and cursing me for being so demanding this week.  They’ll find out soon enough that we aren’t done yet! 😉

Overall, the 30-Day Shred program uses Jillian Michaels’ 3-2-1 system. Three minutes cardio, two minutes strength and one minutes abs in circuits. This adds up to a 20-minute workout of using large and small muscles at the same time (it takes about 25 minutes if you add in her intro, warm up and cool down…30 minutes if you count the time I someone may have spent sprawled on floor recuperating after each day this week).

The DVD is designed to burn the most fat and build the most muscle by using compound movements and includes three levels of difficulty, each to be done every day for 30 days:

  • Level One: Includes jumping jacks, butt kicks, push-ups, crunches, standing rows, lunge dips, punches and bicep curls.
  • Level Two: I have only seen the previews and it looks like they add walking push-ups and planks.
  • Level Three: I don’t even want to guess but clearly she makes it even harder. I’m assuming more technical moves all around meant to kill you are to be expected. I say kill you because what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!

I’ll let you know how the next levels are when I get there. Have a fantastic weekend.

One response to “Fit Friday: 30-Day Shred

  1. Pingback: Fit Friday: 30-Day Shred Level 2 | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

