Finally time to party

Somehow…it’s the middle of December! Even though I don’t know how that happened, it means that we got to celebrate something exciting. Mr. Greenhorn graduated from college–hooray!

The tassel that was worth the hassle.

While he was working hard his last few months as an intern and preparing for graduation, I was working hard planning a party. 🙂 So, for both reasons, I was really happy it was finally time to throw it.

Friday, Dec. 9, Jeremy’s parents came to visit and watch him walk.

Proud!

With graduation in the middle of a workday, it meant traffic wasn’t bad and I got to take the day off. Whoo!

Up close and personal.

The Saturday after graduation, we threw a casual at-home party to celebrate. I decided to follow the “Tassel Worth the Hassle” theme and do just a few decorations reflecting graduation items paired with delicious, easy food.

I made meatballs in the slow cooker with cranberry sauce and chili sauce. I also spent $.89 on red velvet ribbon to make adorable wraps. So silly but I amused myself, and that’s what it’s about, right?

Diploma napkins.

I also used 11″ x 17″ card stock to do a little wordplay decoration.

For Jeremy and several friends also in the class of 2011, I hung a sentiment I knew they all shared.

I also made brownies, chocolate-dipped pretzel rods, these bacon and cheese pinwheels and these homemade taquitos.

Rolled food to resemble diplomas (even though they didn't get the velvet ribbon like the napkins).

And maybe because there just aren’t enough excuses to break out helium, I embraced this opportunity to cover my living room ceiling.

Festive.

And, between the static you could create with them, the force you could whack into someone’s face with them and the helium you could suck out of them, they proved surprisingly fun.

Then, once midnight started to close in, all the food was gone and many guests had left, we moved my car out of the garage to make room for a little friendly competition for those who remained…

Serious about my ping pong.

Yep, we broke out our ping pong table.

Haha, we aren't going to be invited to the Olympic team but we had fun.

Eherin is on the right (remember her from running the bridges downtown!). We met because she was in Jeremy’s graduating class, so we got to celebrate for her, too. 🙂

Overall, I’d say was a good time! Minimum leftovers with maximum good company, and in the end, a huge accomplishment. I was even excited for the graduates I didn’t know just because it’s so fun to see a huge crowded arena filled with people striving for higher education and the family and friends there to support them.

I was going to say the same thing!

So, there you have it. That’s what we’re celebrating. And, as with most milestones, we’re now looking forward to what might be next. Hope you are having a great week!

5 responses to “Finally time to party

  1. Congratulations to Jeremy!!

  2. Congrats to Jeremy! BUT more importantly, I’ve been clicking on your ads so you get money! 😉

  3. Pingback: My husband has 32 kids | Greenhorn Living

  4. Pingback: My husband has 34 kids | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

