Fit Friday: Resistance band workout in six moves

I have a really great and interesting workout courtesy of my trusty Real Simple magazine, who by the way, totally owes me some more workout write-ups after all the indulgent recipes they made me make…and eat. 😉

Anyways, back to feeling to burn!

Real Simple titled the article, “15 Minutes And You’re Done: 6 Easy Resistance Band Exercises”

I wasn’t so sure about this “easy” claim of theirs but I decided to try it out and hope that it didn’t turn into “15 minutes and I’m done: 6 easy ways to hurt myself” since I’ve never used the resistance band.

Oh well, here goes nothing…

1)

Lunge with bicep curl.2)"Hug the world" plie.

3)

Squat and overhead press.4)Crunch and lat pull-down.

 
5)
 

Side lunge with side raise.

 6)

"Monkey" side raises.

I have a feeling that it’s going to be “easy” the way making dinner from scratch or running is easy. It’s not easy like flopping on the couch and ordering pizza–you have to put effort and time into it. But the moves and supplies are easy to understand, easy to obtain and hopefully, easy to stick with. And of course, worth it in the end…and for your end, haha (and arms and back and abs and circulatory system). 

My goal is to do this three times a week (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays) through December. I’ll check back in on Dec. 30. Wish me luck. Or better yet, do it with me! Be sure to visit Real Simple’s page for detailed instructions on the moves and the very inspiring cartoon, faceless girl to see you through. 🙂

Leave a Reply

