Total recall

Well, I discovered something today. Something terrifying…the government’s recall website. I’ve checked into things when there has been a major announcement in the mainstream news. I never thought to look randomly.

Now, I’m not sure if I’m glad I found it or mad. I think I would be a paranoid hermit if I checked it all the time! One visit and I was convinced everything could kill me.

Also, September is National Food Safety Education Month® (NFSEM) and so I popped over to visit the Food Safety and Inspection Service website.

There are 45 current recalls and alerts. And that’s just meat! Luckily, not all are as scary as drug-resistant salmonella…some are just recalled because of a mislabeled package. So, it’s not nearly as scary to know that it just doesn’t have “wheat” listed on the label—-unless you have that allergy. Yikes.

One example: 15 million pounds of SpaghettiOs recalled due to possibly underprocessed meatballs.

But then there’s more. Toys, other foods, pet food, furniture, cosmetics, etc. So consider this a greenhorn public service announcement (PSA). 🙂 Have a great day. Be safe!

 

 

Leave a Reply

