What the heck is a pinterest?

If you read any other blogs, you may have heard murmurings (or shouts from mountaintops, depending on which blogger you were listening to 🙂 ) about a website called Pinterest.

Pinterest logo.

My honest, very first thought when hearing about this site a month ago was, “Pinterest Schminterest. Who the eff cares about another site to make me feel inadequate about home decorating and personal style.”

But it kept creeping up and into conversations. So I visited. And it took about 1.47 seconds to gulp down the Kool-Aid and hit the “Request an Invite” button. In return, I received an automated email announcing a wait list. Boo. But within an hour, I had my acceptance email!

"I'm in!"

Here’s what Pinterest is according to the fine folks who know it best (aka the Pinterest staff):

  • Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web.
  • People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes.
  • Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people.
  • Browsing pinboards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests. To get started, request an invite.

Here’s why I was sucked in:

I already tear, print, gather and organize pages of inspiration. And I have accumulated an impressive collection by stalking Martha Stewart’s website, seeking out party planning websites, subscribing to Real Simple magazine and receiving catalogs from my favorite stores, like World Market, Crate & Barrel and Ikea.

My two-inch binder is getting full.

Most things are in pretty plastic sleeves and organized by content theme.

Halloween pages end on the left, Thanksgiving pages start on the right.

Dining room and bar area inspiration pages.

But as I find more and more things, I’m running out of room! And energy, so I end up just shoving papers in a to-be-filed pile. I had thought I’d scan them all onto my computer. I’m still thinking that will happen, eventually…?

But in the meantime, I can stop collecting physical pages and start organizing digital pages via Pinterest boards and their bajillion amazing and creative inspirational members. Hooray! So, at least for me, this is not just one more thing to keep up with. It’s a genuine and welcome solution.

They have great examples for things you are looking for AND have samples of ideas you have never thought of but will want to do immediately. I currently have eight boards:

My boards broken into travel ideas, home decorating, landscaping, parties, kid stuff, workouts, hairstyles, recipes and funny stuff.

It is so addicting! It appeals to so many personality traits that it is a marketers dream and inconceivably free of charge. If you love ideas, creativity, technology, art, finding new places, interior design, food, variety, people, parties, kids, gifts, crafts, solutions or organization. You’re going to love this site. And, you don’t have to join or anything to browse all the fabulous things people post. Only if you want to create your own boards.

If I would’ve had this when planning my wedding…ohmagoodness…I would’ve been fanatical!

So that’s my latest fun find. I’m loving it while it’s still all new and shiny. 🙂 Do you have any new finds lately? What do you think Pinterest could help inspire you to do?

One response to “What the heck is a pinterest?

  1. I am completely addicted to Pinterest! I have had to step away for a while, because I would get lost for hours on that site!

Leave a Reply

