Hawaiian honeymoon

I had such a good time narrating our anniversary trips last week, I thought I’d add in the honeymoon since it was actually the first trip we took as a married couple.

For our honeymoon, I originally wanted to do something dramatic, like Greece (my dream destination), but funds and timing wouldn’t cooperate. So I settled for Hawaii (I know, “settled” is a laughable term). πŸ™‚

It was how I felt at first but those ridiculous feelings quickly diminished as the trip got closer. I worked at Sea World’s Makahiki Luau for almost four years so the Hawaiian culture held a special place for me. It was my favorite job prior to a career and I learned so much. Everyone there was actually Hawaiian, Tahitian or Samoan, so I felt like it was one of the more authentic experiences in the tourism industry. I even learned hula dancing and poi balls from them! But, I can now tell you, real Hawaii is even better.

This was the longest plane trip Jeremy had taken. I sleep on planes with plenty of Dramamine so Jeremy was on his own to entertain himself for the nine-hour flight. When I woke up, we were low over the other islands and being asked to declare any fruits or vegetables.

Window seat!

Brightly-dressed smiling residents greeted us in the terminal with real flower leis as we headed to our hotel shuttle.

Aloha!

The air is warm and breezy in Oahu and as we got closer to the hotel you could smell the salt in the humid air. We checked in and then raced to our room.

Breakfast was served down there around the pool each morning with a ukelele player and his wife, a hula dancer. They provided insulated lunch boxes so you could eat there or take your food up to the room or out to the beach–a very nice touch.

Poolside breakfast.

The room was lovely and air conditioned so we usually sat around the pool and then hoarded leftovers in the room. πŸ™‚

Taking food to the beach.

We had so many plans to “do” things. We were going to go all around the island. see the Pearl Harbor area, the North Shore, island hop, etc. But when it came down to it, we identified a couple activities we wanted to focus on and the rest of the time we just relaxed! It’s what we needed by far, but we still got some great stories and experiences…

We went to a luau:

Opening ceremony.

Orchid shower from a coconut tree πŸ™‚

I showed off my poi ball skills and dominated all the other (7-year-old) participants.

And got a sea turtle tattoo!

Jeremy showed off his manly spearing prowess.

We tried to snorkel:

Kailua Beach

Painful face.

After five addition stings around my body and one panicked trip to the lifeguard stand, they put up signs.

The only pain remedy was Benadryl...so rather than snorkel, we slept on the beach for two hours.

Jeremy got some nice pictures while I was drugged though.

We hiked Diamond Head:

At the bottom.

At the top!

We scored a primo poolside spot:

Cabana cocktails.

We successfully snorkeled:

We have the snorkel mask forehead imprints to prove it.

I swam with a real turtle!!!

We surfed in an outrigger canoe:

Weeeeeeeeee

We enjoyed malasadas:

We were told this was *the* place.

We hadn't had them before but I was sold.

We had a hard time saying buy but got in some last poses:

Hotel's outdoor lobby.

Honeymooners.

So that’s my short-version highlight reel of Waikiki Beach and our goofy delirium. πŸ™‚

All these high temperatures lately makes me wish I was just laying on a beach again. Good times.

Have you guys been taking refuge inside or taking advantage of the hot weather? Do you like to see everything while on vacation or lay low?

3 responses to “Hawaiian honeymoon

  1. I also went to Hawaii, and by far it was the best thing that I ever did! Ok so it was by myself and for work (poor me!), and I still concur its the best thing that ever happened to me lol. I also climed Diamond Head, and swam with the sharks, but I would of loved to explore the other venues there! I’ve been to Greece and I hope you guys have a chance to go one day, as for me, Hawaii was so much more restful! Mostly because we didn’t go as tourists we had to to visit 4 million relatives and socialize. Lately I have been thinking about that beach in Waikiki and the balmy breezes… although Floirda beaches rock right up there for me! But for us, summer in Yuma, Az., is no different then stark winter in the north or midwest. You just don’t go out!! Longing for the temps to drop below 100 which usually will start happening in Oct sometime.. Thanks for sharing your honeymoon!!

  2. Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to
    take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Great blog and amazing design and style.

Leave a Reply

