Fit Fridays

Happy Friday everyone! While I worked through the Couch to 5K program, I started posting the week in review every Friday. I really enjoyed the accountability and history it provided, and the motivation from you guys it allowed! Now that the regiment is over, I don’t want to lose anything I’ve worked to get so far. So this week, I ran and tried something new at Jeremy’s suggestion. P90X.

P90X website banner. Look at those abs and promises!

Heard of it? It’s been all around the blog world and news as a new (well, not-so-new-anymore) fitness craze. I know several people who swear by it’s premise and incorporate many moves into their own workouts.

In case you’re like me and never really looked at it, here’s the idea:

“P90X is a revolutionary home fitness program. In just 90 days, you can get back in shape, or build the body you’ve always wanted. All you need is a set of dumbbells or resistance bands, a pull-up bar, and about an hour a day. No gym required.” –www.beachbody.com/p90x

It comes with a full nutrition plan and more but I just decided to pop in the arms, back, chest and abs DVD to strengthen some of my run-neglected muscles. It starts with a nice warm-up and then basically you do push-ups and pull-ups for an hour. I can’t do push-ups or pull-ups so I knew I was in trouble pretty quick.

However, I managed to complete the whole DVD by adjusting moves for doughy-human level, which I’ve heard isn’t cheating and I’m sticking with it. For push-ups, I did them on my knees. And for pullups, I used a resistance band while sitting on the floor. And for some of the extreme push-ups, I just held a plank position rather than actually pushing up and down. Jeremy snapped one such moment.

The "X" in P90X means "extreme" and they aren't kidding. This is a decline pushup.

Ridiculous…especially in glasses that day (I don’t recommend that). But I’m insanely proud that I even got in the position much less stuck with the rest of it. A pre-C25K Adriane would have been frustrated that she couldn’t do it perfect and quit. But this time I enjoyed the challenge, pushed through the pain and look forward to seeing improvements.

And I apparently need to quit doing push-ups on my knees because it looks bad to have yoga mat knee burns at work!

Once the arms, chest and back were done, the 15-minute “ab ripper” finale began. It was also extreme but I really enjoyed it in a weird way. And more importantly, I felt great after.

Take that, muscles!

Obviously, that picture shows you how excited and delirious I was–crazy eyes and all. The day after was another story. In fact, I did this on Tuesday and I’m still sore! If I was following the full P90X program, I should do one of their DVD every day. But, I’m not (even though it’d be interesting to see what I really could do in 90 days). I will keep at it though.

In junior high and high school and was a size 2 and on a crew (rowing) team and a basketball team. There were no “workouts” scheduled, I just practiced and competed. As a college student, I wasn’t part of any sports teams–except maybe the house party crashers and workaholics. Do they count?

Now that I sit at a desk all day, I have gained a new perspective on creating the body and lifestyle you want. I want fitness to a regular part of my routine, whether it’s a formal training program or just me sweating it out. I want to be confident to spend time at the beach with friends or hike with my family and not turn down invitations because I’m a self-conscious doughball. I want fitness to round me out as a person. I don’t want it to consume me or make me lose sight of the bigger picture.

I hope you’ll find Fit Fridays fun and informative. Sometimes they’ll be my weekly activities, sometimes they’ll just be fitness related. I’d love to hear your ideas and try new things to avoid getting bored or burnt out!

Have a great weekend! I’ll see you Monday–it’s a very special Monday in the Greenhorn house.

2 responses to “Fit Fridays

  1. Pingback: Half-birthday party | Greenhorn Living

  2. Pingback: Half-birthday party | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

