Product review: Almond milk

I have admitted my smoothie love affair here before, more than once. But a constant is usually milk and almonds. The almonds were originally inspired by my favorite store-bought smoothie, the Health Nut at Tropical Smoothie, but my blender hates them. It can’t grind them small enough so there’s always little almond chunks in every other sip. Then a vegan friend said something brilliant…”Why don’t you try almond milk?”

While I was at Whole Foods for Brendan Brazier, I grabbed some 365 Everyday Value Organic Almond Milk.

The goods.

I got the vanilla flavor because I originally planned to use kale, which apparently isn’t as sweet as spinach. That didn’t happen this time. I got impatient so I worked with what I already had. You can’t make a smoothie with just milk, so as Gomer Pile would say, here are my “supplies, supplies, supplies…” 😉

My poor blender can't handle the frozen or leafy stuff in the beginning so the 'nanas, spinach and ice are waiting in the wings.

I always contemplate variations of smoothies but I go back to my true loves every time.

I may have a berry addiction.

But I also figured it was best to use what I know I love to judge the impact of the almond milk. I blended it all up and poured it in my new cup!

It looks like mud but tastes like rainbows...I'm assuming rainbows taste wonderful, of course.

A perfect sweet-tooth, on-the-go dinner.

I liked it, so I put a lid on it.

Of course, in this case, my on-the-go destination was my couch…but who said there were rules? Back to the real reason for my post, judging the almond milk!

Short answer: delicious but I never would’ve noticed a difference from cow milk.

Long answer: I love cow milk and have always drank it. (Drunk it? Drinken it?) Anyways, I don’t have a problem with lactose or anything but here are the main reasons for why I will continue to use it instead of cow milk for many purposes.

  1. I put cream in my coffee and tea, eat cheese every week and used to have yogurt or a smoothie with milk every day. But once I started running, I noticed I got all phlemy. It made it hard to breathe efficiently and would give me headaches afterward. A doctor mentioned I may want to reduce my dairy intake. Now I don’t have to give up my beloved recovery smoothies!
  2. As I mentioned in the beginning of this post, my blender hates whole raw almonds.
  3. I was using milk and almonds separately, now I have a shortcut and it doesn’t spoil as quickly as cow milk.

Compared to 1 cup of 1% cow milk, 1 cup of almond milk has:

  • 50 fewer calories
  • 1.5 grams fewer saturated fat
  • 35 milligrams  more sodium
  • 4 grams less carbohydrates
  • 15 milligrams less cholesterol
  • 5 grams less sugar
  • 8 grams less protein

Cow versus almond.

Of course, I got the vanilla flavored so the sugar and carbohydrate content was a bit higher than the regular almond or cow milk.

The only thing that surprised me was how little protein was in the almond milk compared to cow milk or whole almonds. What happens to it in the processing? I can’t justify my smoothies being good for recovery without the protein. 😦 Hmmmm.

Overall, it tastes good and has benefits, so I’m glad I tried it! Have you guys tried almond milk? Tell me why if you drink it! I’m sure I missed some pros or cons along the way.

6 responses to “Product review: Almond milk

  1. I’ve tried it a few times but inevidably I always go back to the vanilla soy milk. It has a thinner consistancy then the soy, and I notice it in my coffee/tea drinks. I could probrobly get use to it though if I discovered wicked things about the soy…

    • I’ve tried chocolate soy milk before and I thought it was tasty. However, I’ve heard more and more eveidence that makes me lean away. I don’t know about wicked, just more questionable…things like high estrogen levels, thyroid function inhibitor, toxins, how they’re grown/pesticides/genetic modification, etc. But everything is evil now, right?! 🙂

  2. I like the silk vanilla almond milk, but again without the extra protein this week I switched back to cow milk.

  3. Pingback: Veggie adventures: Calabaza | Greenhorn Living

  4. With so many more people developing allergies and sensitivities to dairy products, finding tasty and cheap alternatives to milk can be a challenge. One tasty alternative that can be used in cooking and everyday use is almond milk. But honestly, almond milk can get pricey. Instead try making your own almond milk for a quick and easy project that is fun to do with the kids.:

    My blog site
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/wheatgrass-shots-for-detoxification/

Leave a Reply

