C25K: Week 12 report

The last week of the Couch to 5K (C25k) program: Week 9! I finally made it! All the days were the same: Run for 30 minutes.

I started early in the week and quickly realized how much taking a week off had affected me. I couldn’t get my head into it. I couldn’t help but focus on the 90-degree temperature, 65% humidity, the lousy gnats, my heavy legs. I just kind of distractedly shuffle-ran through most of it. However, shuffling, sweating and walk breaks included, I still ran for the majority of time and it felt good to be back at it.

See my BFAST volunteer shirt? Free souvenir! 🙂

The second run was more focused and I felt really great about it. It was also my first nighttime run! Thursday, the temperature was 96 degrees so I was waiting for the evening to bring some relief. Time got away from me so at 9 p.m., I set out.This challenge has really exposed me to all kinds of first-time running experiences: smoke, rain, treadmill, injury and now darkness.

Week 9, Day 2

Something else magical happened this week. My cat suddenly has an interest in me! I love my cat but he’s kind of jerk. A vocal, picky, stinky, demanding one. He doesn’t hide from people but he is not a lap cat. He prefers feet to hands and only wants to be pet when and where he chooses–if you misread his signals, he will bite you. But for some reason, this week, I was the cat’s meow.

Day 1--look how close he is to me! He looks evil but he stayed there the whole time I stretched.

Day 2--Jeremy snapped this exfoliating treatment and bath I received while stretching.

My day three run will be sometime Saturday.

Progress Report:

1.     Mental

  • I still get bored running nonstop but I’m trying to focus on getting places now that I have a better idea of how long it takes me. For example, I know if I run the whole time, I can get to a certain neighborhood by the half-way point.
  • I’m a little in my head about this being the end. I feel really good that I saw it through, but a little lost now that there’s nothing to look forward to. Now it gets really hard–sticking with it and improving on my own.
  • Weekly mantra: Not so much a mantra but the lyrics and beat from Young the Giant’s “My Body.” -“My body tells me no, but I won’t quit, ’cause I want more.”

2.     Physical

  • I re-read one of my earlier week’s postings and it said in the ‘Lessons” section, “3 minutes is a long time.” Hahahahaha. I was feeling bad that I could only run for about 20 minutes and not the full 30 required this week…then I read that and felt a whole lot better.
  • My flexibility has also noticeably improved. Before, stretching hurt and was just a necessity. Now, it really helps me before and after runs. I actually enjoy doing them and I can now do them properly.
  • Pounds— -1 pound.
  • BMI—Unchanged.

3.     Lessons

  • It’s important to notice the journey, not just the moment.
  • I can’t stop at running or use this program as training wheels any longer.
  • Nutrition and activity have to complement each other.

So, that’s the Week 9 program. Did you try anything new this week? Have you completed the C25K training program? Any ideas on how to bathe an 18-pound cat?

If you want to read my Couch to 5K Program Challenge journey from the beginning: Here’s Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6, Week 7 and Week 8, Week 9, Week 10 and Week 11.

8 responses to “C25K: Week 12 report

  1. Miss ShareaCube

    You go, girl!

    And about le Bear – he always seemed to love on me. But then, again, if I could attract men like I attract cats, I wouldn’t be sitting here responding to your blog on a Friday night…..

  2. Kudo’s to you Adriane! It has been fun watching run this race! I too started running for fitness in my late 20’s until all those children got in the way. It does get addicting! I think my favorite runs were in the winter in Jersey when it rained and snowed! Oh, and good call about the nutrician and activity going hand in hand. Thats what my trainer says to me every month my weight doesn’t drop lol. Okay, about your grizzley bear cat.. just looking into his eyes… I would’t recommend bathing him lol.

  3. Well done!! My kitty is also quite the drag queen (king?). He is super picky about everything. This website draws comics all the time and I swear he hits it on the nail with this comic called “How to pet a kitty” http://theoatmeal.com/comics/kitty_pet

  4. Pingback: Fit Fridays | Greenhorn Living

  5. Pingback: Fit Friday: Fall fitness | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

