5 things I learned in an evening with Brendan Brazier

More accurately the title should be “My evening with Brendan Brazier, several members of his staff and a hundred other Jacksonville residents.” But that’s a bit lengthy isn’t it?

Last Friday, Brendan Brazier hosted a free presentation at my local Whole Foods about his Vega products and being a vegan athlete. I hadn’t heard of Brendan prior to finding his event on Whole Foods’ calendar. In case your like me, here’s the quick background I looked up from his website:

“Brendan Brazier a professional Ironman triathlete, bestselling author on performance nutrition, and the creator of an award-winning line of whole food nutritional products called VEGA.”

That snippet was all I knew going in. Actually, I considered not going at the last minute. I don’t plan to ‘go vegan’ and I was spending a Friday night at a grocery store with strangers.

But I went anyway…

The only one in the North Florida area...worth the drive.

If you follow me on Twitter, you may have seen that I was tweeting #brendanbrazierbreakthrough from the event because I couldn’t get over how much sense it made and how interesting his casual, but science-based,  philosophy was.

Moving target + trying to be sneaky with a camera phone = blurry picture of me getting busted during his presentation.

Here are five things I took away from his presentation:

  1. Looking at food like money. By focusing on getting a return on your investment and realizing that junk food/stimulants/etc are like shopping with a credit card (it’s easy or instantly gratifying but you’ll have to pay for it later).
  2. The stress cycle and hormone balance. Stress comes in many forms but they all raise your cortisol levels, which keeps you from delta wave sleep, which makes you crave stimulants, which raises stress…which keeps your cortisol levels elevated, which reduced deep sleep, which makes you crave and become dependent on stimulants…you see how this goes, right?
  3. Gain perspective. If that means taking a week off workouts, do it. If that means reintroducing something you’ve recently eliminated, do it. The body usually takes 7-10 days to reset, so that is the perfect gauge if you are feeling worn down or “off.” Note to self, lazy doesn’t count. 😉
  4. Alkaline foods. Channel your high school chemistry teacher here and remember that pH levels are all about balance. Our bodies absorb so many acid-forming foods (animal-based to coffee) that being mindful of the alkaline sources to counteract them is key for cellular regeneration, quicker recovery and overall healthy balance.
  5. “We’re overfed and under nourished.” I just loved this quote from him about the paradox of our continent.

I feel certain I learned more than those five things, but those were the main points I’m looking forward to building on for my own health. After an hour of talking, he opened it up to questions. And then his product representatives offered free samples and he signed books and talked to more people out front.

It was so crowded, I took the opportunity to do a little shopping, including a new product that my vegetarian friend recommended…almond milk! I know it’s not new but it’s new to me. I plan to put it in my smoothies and I’ll let you know how that goes 🙂 .

Once I bought my pluots, pita chips and “milk,” I got in line just to say hi and thank you.

Make me wait in line and I'll snap more photos (quality being an afterthought--sorry Whole Foods employee I decapitated)!

I am looking out for his upcoming cookbook, “Thrive Foods,” that will be released in the U.S. in September. I also really enjoyed learning about his Vega products but I didn’t buy any of them either because truthfully I was overwhelmed. I’ll visit the MyVega website and learn more about how I can make the smartest choices.  I already learned I’m a flexitarian!

One last thing, I have a freebie for you! Brendan Brazier’s Thrive in 30 program is an online, 30-day wellness program. Sign up at thrivein30.com. It offers a way to increase your knowledge about nutrition, health, fitness and overall lifestyle. OK, so it’s free to everyone, I’m still sharing it. 🙂

Hope you’re having a great week. Any Brendan Brazier fans? Any other nutrition-curious hobbyists like me? What kind of -tarian are you? Feel free to make something up, no one would know…

2 responses to “5 things I learned in an evening with Brendan Brazier

  1. I loved him in the Mummy!! Guess I’m an Egyptarian. 🙂
    LUAF

  2. Pingback: Product review: Almond milk | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

