Real tomato bisque

Thanks to the 100 Days of Real Food family, I have an amazing soup recipe to share with you. It’s easy (considering it’s from scratch) and delicious. It’s probably more suited to an autumn menu, but I had five tomatoes left  from my Dowless Blueberry Farm visit to use up. And, I work in a corporate building with no windows on my floor where it’s always cold, so I’m up for soup almost daily. After tasting the soup, I’ll be eating it year-round!

Ingredients:

First, I gathered all the ingredients I would need.

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 onion, diced (I chopped mine and didn’t worry about tiny, even cuts since I knew it was all going in a blender at the end)
  • 2 slices bacon, prosciutto, or ham, minced
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 5 tablespoons whole-wheat flour
  • 5 cups chicken broth/stock
  • 5 – 6 medium-sized fresh tomatoes that have been boiled for 1 minute and then peeled (or one 28-ounce can of whole, peeled tomatoes with liquid)…either way they need to be roughly chopped before using
  • 3 parsley sprigs
  • 3 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 cup heavy cream (or less if desired)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

But I'm a mise en place kinda gal, so I prepared all the ingredients ahead of time.

Directions:

  1. Heat the butter in a large soup pot over medium-high heat.

While the butter melted, I went a step further and arranged the ingredients in the order to be used and with their appropriate utensils.

2. Add the diced onion and cook for about 5 – 6 minutes or until it starts to get soft.

3. While the onion cooks, place tomatoes in water and bring to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Then drain and carefully peel.

5. Roughly chop tomatoes and set aside.

4. Add the bacon (or other meat) and the garlic and stir for another minute or two or until the meat gets crisp.

5. Add the flour and stir vigorously for 2 – 3 minutes.

6. Pour in the broth and tomatoes and bring to a boil while whisking constantly.

7. Throw in the herbs and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes.

8. Remove the herbs.

Playing "Find the lonely bay leaf."

 

9. Puree the soup either in a blender or with a handheld immersion blender.

You may have to do it in batches since blenders only hold 32-ish ounces.

10. Stir in the desired amount of heavy cream and salt & pepper to taste.

11. Serve hot and enjoy!

The recipe calls for a teaspoon of salt but I omitted it and ate mine with lightly salted pita chips instead.

Mmmmm 365's pita chips.

The other great thing about tomato soup is it freezes really well! Since this recipe makes so much, I ladled about two cups into Hefty freezer bags so we have soup at-the-ready.

Equal servings make for easy reheating.

A printable version of this recipe is here.

I already love the 100 Day of Real Food mission, but I’m not 100% great at following it myself. Great recipes like this are why I keep going back to her website and trying to make a difference when I can.

I hope you go, too! If you find a recipe you love (or try this one), please share!

3 responses to “Real tomato bisque

  1. Pingback: 5 things I learned in an evening with Brendan Brazier | Greenhorn Living

  2. sounds delicious! although i am mostly vegan and would have to change the chicken broth to vegatable broth, im sure that wouldn’t make much of a difference. I’m wondering if half and half could be exchanged for the creme though..

    • Hmmmm, veganizing… The broth could easily be switched. I found this recipe for vegan heavy cream subsitiute but have never tried it Supposedly it tastes like thick crème fraiche:

      in a blender
      3/4 cup vanilla (or unsweetened) soy milk
      1 tablespoon lemon juice
      blend for a minute and a half on high
      mix well 1 cup of sunflower oil (or 1/4 almond and 3/4 sunflower oil) with 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and a tablespoon maple syrup…add this mixture very slowly, in one thin stream, while still blending on high, and keep blending until it gets really thick. (it should get thick as you get to the end of the oil). refrigerate…will keep in the fridge for about a week.

      This would still be good without the cream though just as a fresh, real tomato soup.
      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

