C25K: Week 11 report

Here’s the thing, the Couch to 5K (C25K) training program is supposed to last 9 weeks. I was two weeks behind already due to one week of knee pain and one week of shin splints. So, in my 11th week since starting, I was supposed to be doing the final Week 9 program.

I used the phrase “supposed to” twice in the paragraph above and the light bulb came on for me…there is and there isn’t…I focus way too much on “supposed to.”

I guess that’s the beauty of running. I was told before I started that running has an amazing way of clearing your mind and being super challenging beyond the physical. Blah blah blah. I was busy not dying on the side of the road.

And then all together it hit me today. Is it a revelation that’s going to earn me a shout out from the Dali Lama? Um, probably not. But for me it was huge.

Here’s where I’m going with this—>this week, this was me:

Sloth

[Source]

But, even though I shouldn’t be lazy and I was supposed to complete the C25K program this week, I didn’t. And I’m learning to not beat myself up over expectations.

I started the week so incredibly sore in my right quadricep. As in, I-had-trouble-walking sore. I couldn’t figure out why until I remembered my job at BFAST…basically doing squats for two hours and leaning on my right leg to reach around.

By the time I got around to running, I rolled my flippin’ ankle. Twice! Once on my run and then again the next day at work. That pretty much killed my whole spirit for the week, even into non-running things like doing laundry, Wednesday’s blog post and returning my brother’s phone call. I was useless and not in any mood to make an effort otherwise.

I share this embarrassing week of weakness for one reason: it’s the truth. It’s not pretty and I not proud of it, but it’s what happened. So although I toyed with the idea of faking the whole post, I decided that wasn’t what this is about.

I did go for a walk with my favorite pup on Thursday. And since she doesn’t usually go with me on runs anymore (pee/squirrel/sniff interruptions didn’t work with interval training) she was more than pleased when I grabbed her leash.

"Do you mean it? I can go?!"

So, I took my traditional picture, and tried to pretend I wasn’t discouraged and that our two-mile walk was good enough exercise. It’s better than nothing, right?

At least I got to wear my newest t-shirt.

Recognize the logo? Free shirt courtesy of my 5K. πŸ™‚

For the second time now, I’ll say Week 9 starts Sunday! Last week of (my version) the program…

If you want to read my Couch to 5K Program Challenge journey from the beginning: Here’s Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6, Week 7, Week 8, Week 9 and Week 10.

3 responses to “C25K: Week 11 report

  1. The first thing you have to know in that starting a program like the couch to 5k, half the battle youve already won. You started. You took the concept and moved foward. Major accomplishment honey. As for the suggested timeable they give, its just that, a suggestion. You have to listen to your body and go with the flow. All the glitches your encountering right now is your body saying, hey im here, i need a break. Walking your beautiful dog for 2 miles was a great choice. it gave you one on one time with puppy, and it pampared your body. I say a job well done Adriane!! All that said, never look back, only foward! Go Girl!

    • Thanks Penny! I really appreciate the support. Alaska is pretty cute, huh? πŸ™‚ One of my favorite sayings is, “Even on your worst run, you’re still beating everyone who never got off the couch.”

  2. Pingback: C25K: Week 12 report | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

