C25K: Week 10 report

TGIF! Is anyone else immediately forced to sing the Full House theme song when the phrase “TGIF” is used? Just me? Okay, anyway…

Couch to 5K (C25K) training program Week 8 = D-U-N. And, it was a rough but exciting one! Since I was supposed to be finished with the program, I had my 5K scheduled. Obviously, I’m two weeks behind anyway, so I just had a 5K as my Week 8 Day 1. Why not?

Official logo.

Day 1 with run partner #1.

The Week 8 days were all the same: Run for 28 minutes. But since I started the week with the 5K, I was sooo sore and skipped the day 2 run. I felt bad about about it for about an hour and then made myself a banana split and felt much better 😉 .

Thursday, I planned to run but was met with less-than-friendly skies on my way home.

Wuh-oh.

But I got home, and there was no lightning, so I went anyway. Ha-HA! And just for fun, I took another running partner.

Week 8 run 2 with partner #2.

I love that she is completely unphased. By herself? Oh no, no wet paws for Alaska. Going for a “w-a-l-k” with mommy with lots of squirrels to watch? Get outta her way with or without a little precipitation!

It was actually my first run in the rain AND in a tank top. I prefer big baggy t-shirts to hide all the jiggle and sweat but I took a leap. I decided if it was going to be soaked, I didn’t need the extra weight. And you know, I had a great run.

Lucky hat, extra dogdoo bags, soaking wet and still laughing.

Progress Report:

1.     Mental

  • The main thing I’m battling is getting over just running for so long. I keep thinking I need to walk. Then I realize after walking for a bit that I can breathe fine and my legs feel okay, so I run again. Is it boredom?
  • Weekly mantra: “Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible.” -St. Francis of Assisi.

2.     Physical

  • I feel so grateful that my shin splints are well-managed!
  • After the 5K, my left calf held it against me all week. It will not relax.
  • Pounds—Unchanged.
  • BMI—Unchanged.

3.     Lessons

  • When you run and eat banana splits, your weight doesn’t change. Good if you are maintaining. Bad if you are trying to lose.
  • Don’t clip your toenails the morning of a race. My poor longer toes got chafed with all the downhill impact. I never could’ve guessed without going through it.

So, that’s the Week 8 program. Did you try anything new this week? I’m excited to be volunteering with a bunch of people I’m really looking forward to hanging out with at the 2011 Beaches Fine Arts Sprint Trialthon (BFAST). Aren’t they clever with their acronym?

Eeeee, Week 9 starts Sunday! Last week of the program…

If you want to read my Couch to 5K Program Challenge journey from the beginning: Here’s Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, Week 4, Week 5, Week 6, Week 7 and Week 8, Week 9.

4 responses to “C25K: Week 10 report

  1. YES. I thought it was just me! I totally understand your desire to stop running even though breathing/ legs = fine. I am just beginning week 7 but really, really, really want to stop in the middle of my runs for no reason other than I don’t feel like running anymore. It’s so weird! I thought being able to run meant that we should automatically love all things running? I definitely don’t get that vibe yet…. keep up the good work!!

  2. Pingback: C25K: Week 11 report | Greenhorn Living

  3. Pingback: C25K: Week 12 report | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

