Book review: Bossypants

I was in Barnes & Noble specifically looking to buy Water for Elephants. I walked up to the customer service desk and asked where it was located and was politely led to a “Popular Now” display.

I picked up Water for Elephants and as I walked away I saw this picture:

Who, me?

Staring at me demurely from a small stack.

I didn’t know too much about Tina Fey other than she got real famous, real quick for her Sarah Palin skits on Saturday Night Live. And, she was Liz Lemon on NBC’s “30 Rock.” A show I admittedly didn’t like at first but the third season completely won me over with it’s smart writing and ridiculous characters. I’ve been a loyal viewer ever since. And, by the middle of the fourth season I figured out “30 Rock” stood for 30 Rockefeller Center, which is the NBC building’s headquarters…yep, I catch on quick once things are spelled out for me.

Anywho, Bossypants is at least a fun title, so I picked it up to read the back. I think my favorite is a tie between two of the book’s advanced praise quotes: “Totally worth it.” –Trees and “Do not print this glowing recommendation of Tina Fey’s book until I’ve been dead a hundred years.” –Mark Twain.

So, I put Water for Elephants back (there’s a movie anyway, right?), and jauntily skipped to the checkout line.

I don’t want you to get your hopes up for my review to be an intellectually stimulating or deep introspective masterpiece (see movie comment above), but I did want to share a few of my favorite parts and then encourage you to go get your own. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Enjoy!

  • Humor and sarcasm flow through each chapter. Bravo.
  • The first chapter includes a story about when she “entered the real world”–at the age of 5. And I’ll just tell you the summary is, she was coloring with another child and (being used to praise and attention at home) held her picture up for said other child. Who ripped it in half. Her recount of this experience was, “I didn’t have the language to express my feelings then, but my thoughts were something like ‘Oh, it’s like that motherfucker? Got it.”
  • A chapter called “All Women Must Be Everything” that casually talks about the evolution of what’s desirable. That now is the hardest since “every girl is expected to have:
    • Caucasian blue eyes
    • full Spanish lips
    • a classic button nose
    • hairless Asian skin with a California tan
    • a Jamaican dance hall butt
    • long Swedish legs
    • small Japanese feet
    • the abs of a lesbian gym owner
    • the hips ofย  nine-year-old boy
    • the arms of Michelle Obama
    • and doll tits.”
    • Most interesting of all is that if you don’t have all of these, you are expected to work on it until you do.
  • A fabulous account of her badass Dad.
  • The rules of improv that with change your life.
  • Bossypants Lesson #183: You can’t boss people around if they don’t really care.
  • A honeymoon tale that you couldn’t make up.
  • Aging naturally without looking like a time-lapse of a rotting sparrow.
  • Insight into SNL skits (with hand-written annotations).
  • Stories of being a working Mom.

This probably sums it up best.

As I cross 550 words, I’m guessing you have an idea of how much this book entertained me. This cleverly written gem had just enough serious notes to hold down the otherwise accidentally-snot-on-yourself-trying-to-hold-in-a-laugh funny book.

How about you guys…read anything good lately? I’m looking forward to my next one: Audition, a memoir by Barbara Walters. On an unrelated note, just 24 hours until the weekend!

2 responses to “Book review: Bossypants

  1. Sounds like a good book for alittle entertainment, but I just finished Water For Elephants and I liked it alot.

Leave a Reply

