Salt air market

After a failed attempt at a different market, and a successful visit to the wrong market, I finally got to the Beaches Green Market.

I saw the sign.

Of course I saw it too late so there was a u-turn in order (notice the arrow above). But I got there! 🙂 And I got to scope out the area on the way.

Outsider's view.

This was much smaller than the other markets I’ve been to but there were real farmers. The weather  and the two greeters were great, too.

Families who had picked the carrots out of the ground that morning are there. People who were making salsa to order from their own fruit have stands. A man selling seafood he had caught that morning brought his coolers. Women selling handmade soaps, jewelry and pet treats had the best smelling areas. Even poultry and beef farmers were onsite for ordering.

Insider's view.

I sampled delicious Kenyan coffee that is fair-trade and organic certified and locally roasted. However, at the end of the day, I only bought eggs and squash.

Farm fresh eggs.

Squash...squashes? Many squash.

Now for the down-side…it was an unfortunately limited selection. Almost no fruit and an overwhelming amount of greens. I was hoping to buy honey and peanut butter there but no such luck. Also, these were not like the produce stands who are interested in haggling. These people are making a living, it’s all business. They don’t want to chat and they charge quite a bit. The dozen eggs were $4. That’s the crazy grocery store price I was trying to avoid. And, the squash looked like this in less than 24 hours:

Sad squash--browning and dimpling.

Granted, I would rather give my money to these nice, hard-working local folks. They can tell me the diet, location and emotional state of the chickens that laid my eggs. And, I understand a lot of the selection is seasonally driven. But, overall, I think my high expectations and excitement killed the reality.

I’m glad I tried it, I may go back, but I think I’ll pass on driving 30 miles for it each weekend. I have one more local market to try on the third Friday of June. We’ll see what turns up there.

Did you try anything new today? Any great squash recipes to share?

3 responses to “Salt air market

  1. that squash and those eggs look great!

    I like to cut my squash up, drizzle a little olive oil on it, sprinkle salt, pepper and garlic powder and grill it up! Sadly we don’t own a grill right now so that won’t be happening anytime soon! 😦

  2. Pingback: Nocatee Farmer’s Market | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

