Thrifted storage saga continues

Back to a topic I can’t seem to get enough of…my “bookcases.” Of course, I used quotes because they are not bookcases now nor will books be stored on them when I’m done, but it rolls off the tongue easier than “large, unique, storage pieces we’re using in the dining room,” right?

If you need to refer back, here is my purchase announcement, my prep work, my priming efforts and my problem trim.

It’s not looking like I’ll get to do the big reveal I had hoped for this week. But, I did make some good progress. The problem with pausing a project, well, one in the garage anyways, is that it gets dirty…

Leaves gather around it.

Pollen and dust will settle on it.

And your husband will inevitably bump into it with the lawn mower.

So I actually spent quite a bit of time up front cleaning again. But it was worth it and I spent Good Friday like this:

Painting the first coat.

I got a good first coat on every piece. Unfortunately, there are a lot of pieces. It has taken over my garage even more! I had to set up stations.

Station 1 made from two ply-wood topped saw horses and a spare 2x4.

Station 2 is a 6-foot plastic picnic table.

Station 3 is a short bookcase I put out for a future yard sale protected by a towel.

The things we do…what a mess. But it worked. And then Saturday, I got to do this:

Yay, more painting.

In addition to the many pieces in stations, the main bodies also just have so.many.surfaces. Sides, undersides, I can’t even tell you the angles I had to try to get for the area that looks like a secretary desk’s letter organizer. In the end though, I was really pleased. Just the bright, crisp white made them so much better.

First one painted!

Second one painted!

Now, I’m just finishing the glossy protective coat. Then all that’s left is the decorative accents. I decided that I’d like to wrap the support backing in fabric and fill the table-front space with Mod Podged paper to give them a little oomph…a little sass. 🙂

Here are a few fabric ideas for your scrolling pleasure:

Fabric 1

Fabric 2

Fabric 3

Fabric 4, 5 & 6

And here are a few paper examples:

Paper 1

Paper 2

Paper 3

Paper 4

Paper 5

So many options! I’ll be hitting up some other stores still to find the perfect complements. It’ll be fun with a lot less sweat and arm exhaustion. Plus it’s the last step to moving them inside so I’m super motivated.

Did you try anything new today? Anyone else in the last stages of a project. I’m cheering you on if you are!

3 responses to “Thrifted storage saga continues

  1. Okay…….hmmmm…..I like fabric 5 for the back board and fabric 4 for the table. Not very sassy I suppose, but it is the dining room. Then again , I don’t know the color accents you want in the dining room. 4 and 5 would go with anything I think. My vote and I’m sticking with it!

  2. Pingback: Break out the champagne-cabinets are in! | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

