Smooth(ie) operator

Ha! Ahhh, I crack myself up…

Anywho, I just wanted to touch on my latest obsession. Smoothies! I’ll admit, I’m a latecomer to the smoothie party. When Smoothie King and Tropical Smoothie places started popping up on street corners, I didn’t get it. My little brother used to get them after high school with his friends and I couldn’t understand.

Well, it’s official. I understand! I started by making them with juice. Once I realized it was the yogurt base and the strawberry banana flavor (the two most common original smoothie makings) that I hated, I started trying new mixes. And then in a fun turn of events, I worked myself up to a smoothie-lover!

I mention the background because although I came to love smoothies, they were a only-if-the-situation-presents-itself treat. More recently, I caught the fever. Foodie blogs everywhere were lighting up with news of smoothie glory…in particular, the Green Monster Movement. I decided I had to try it.

So I did. And, it was a.maze.ing. Experimental blends were happening in my kitchen daily! I’ve upgraded to a full-on smoothie-craving monster. The spinach just makes me feel good. I also add almonds for some protein and energy thanks to inspiration from my hands-down favorite smoothie place (besides my kitchen), Tropical Smoothie.

My favorite smoothie ingredients.

But I’m up for anything. In fact, you could probably put dirt in a cup and as long as it’s blended with some spinach, fruit and juice, I’d drink it. Tonight, I tried a new combination:

  • 5 ounces Greek, blueberry, non-fat yogurt
  • Splash unsweetened pineapple juice
  • Splash organic orange mango juice
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 ounce raw almonds
  • 1/2 medium banana
  • 2 handfuls fresh spinach

Loaded!

Action shot.

The green monster's ALIVE.

So delicious I wish I could share it with you. And it’s prettier than normal because I didn’t add strawberries. The red berries make the smoothie turn a disgusting rotten brown color…but it’s delicious, too. 🙂

Tonight's is a perfect spring smoothie.

In the morning I’ll throw in some ice cubes and take my breakfast on the road. Mmmmmm, sometimes it’s the little things..

Did you try anything new today? Any other smoothie addicts? What are your favorite smoothie recipes (at home or bought)?

2 responses to “Smooth(ie) operator

  1. Pingback: Product review: Yoplait Smoothie mix | Greenhorn Living

  2. Pingback: Product review: Almond milk | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

