Linear lasagna is old news

Today’s experiment category is food. I have had lasagna noodles in my cabinet forever. I finally decided I had to use them! Google pointed me to lasagna roll-ups courtesy of Rachel Ray via the Food Network. They looked delicious and fun! Hooray for playing with food (not while you eat it)!

We invited our friend, Joey, over for dinner (I didn’t mention to him he was going to be my guinea pig). I don’t like Gorgonzola, Jeremy doesn’t like ricotta and Joey doesn’t like mushrooms…but I decided maybe together, it’d be good. Maybe? After all, this baby had 85 reviews and an overall rating of five stars. The full recipe is in the following link: Spinach and Mushroom Lasagna Roll-ups with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce.

Here’s my pictorial summary…

  • In a medium skillet sauté mushrooms, chopped onions and garlic. Add dry chopped spinach. Add ricotta and mix to form your lasagna filling.

Filling mixture

  • Make Gorgonzola sauce by melting veggie or chicken broth, crumbled Gorgonzola and heavy cream together in small sauce pan. Set aside.
  • Smear filling mixture over cooked noodles.

Use a large work surface or cutting board to prepare noodles. I used a vinyl placemat to avoid sticking.

  •  Roll up and place in shallow baking dish.

Rolly rolly

  • Place rolls in a shallow baking dish. Pour sauce over roll-ups and top with mozzarella.

Just missing the mozzarella then ready for the broiling.

  • Place casserole under broiler to melt cheese.
  • Serve with side of your choice. I went with simple spinach salad.

Melty, noodly goodness.

Our experience was a bit different but not less than the five-star rating that everyone else had also reported! The recipe was a bit more elaborate than I felt like following…who has cremini mushrooms on-hand? Not me.  I just used standard white button. I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.

Happy men (Jeremy & Joey respectively)! We all ended up enjoying it--cheeses and mushrooms included.

We also started brainstorming how to improve it for next time. I added some marinara to mine and Jeremy heated up some grilled chicken strips. Both were delicious additions. Next time we’re considering bell peppers, ground chicken or turkey, Asiago, etc.

So, what did you try today? Anything new? Hope you enjoyed your weekend. Get through the week and you can have another one! 🙂

7 responses to “Linear lasagna is old news

  1. This sounds delicious!! However, you are more energetic than I am. I like lasagna in the baking pan so it isn’t very much work. Just layers of good stuff, throw in oven and bake. My kind of ‘gourmet’ meal. AND I just found out that you don’t have to cook the noodles before layering. (even the regular noodles). But, they don’t fit in the pan very well.

  2. Great vegetarian meal!

  3. Pingback: Like butta | Greenhorn Living

  4. Pingback: CJ Acres is a farm, EE-I-EE-I-O… | Greenhorn Living

  5. Pingback: Online video distractions | Greenhorn Living

Leave a Reply

